Ever notice?

25 02 2008

Did anyone ever notice how when you put dried cranberries in your cereal they always sink to the bottom?

Did anyone ever notice that our generation has been creating jobs faster than we can create educational opportunities tailored to those jobs?

Did anyone ever notice that the formal apprenticeships of the generations of our predecessors have given way to the internships of our present?

Did anyone ever notice that we’ve lost sight of the art of family?

Did anyone ever notice that it’s gotten harder and harder to meet and communicate with people despite our amazing ability to speak via voice, text, and even video?

Does anyone else who recently moved to New York from the West Coast feel like there is an incredible amount of static electricity here?

Do any other non-traditional students find it somewhat difficult to interact with people who haven’t really ever worked in the real world?

How on Earth do New Yorkers live with “mini-fridges” you can’t put anything in them…

Have any other professional students ever thought about just shrinking away to some tiny little beach island and living the creative/bum life? Does anyone want to pay me to just think and write all day?

Does everyone know where their food comes from? Has anyone seriously thought about it recently?

Does anyone know how to get red wine stains out…especially after they’ve set over the period of a drunken night and hung over morning?

Does anyone know how to set up an unobtrusive indoor home garden?

Does anyone know where to get a good quality digital video cameracamera with a tripod online or in New York for less than $600?

Does anyone know where to ride a road bike in New York where you won’t promptly get run over by seven taxis and three pedestrians, two of whom are angry and in 4″ stilettos?

In return for answers I can tell you all about pulmonary pressures and gas exchange equations…





Fears, Hopes, Dreams, Knowledge, Insecurity…Medicine

25 02 2008

To be a first year medical student is to come face to face with a potent mixture of your emotions flavored by those of your peers.  Classmates who were always the top of their class are now somehow ordinary – bad grades, poor test scores are somehow a reflection of yourself as a person – your character intellectual and social is constantly judged and compared to “the mean”.  In addition, there is a more pressing and terrifying elephant looming in the room.  Soon, you will be responsible for peoples lives.  On a level that few ever have been before – and unfortunately (at least for the first year medical student) your knowledge will be the only thing that you may be able to fall back on.  Sir William Osler, the “father” of modern medicine once said that “We miss more by not seeing than by not knowing” a quote that I’ve always taken to mean, slow down and look at your patient, in my  current situation patient = exam.  Unfortunately, it seems that by not seeing things in my first two years, I’m missing things that I will need to know in my next two years.  And in the next two years, I will be missing things that I need to know then.  These insecurities come to the fore when discussing what is wrong with patients, especially with such a small knowledge base.  Medical students are afraid of not knowing, so they memorize, it’s a basic instinct for most of us.  But by memorizing, you lose the ability to actually learn the material, to “see” it so to speak.  You don’t typically memorize the subtleties of relationships.  You don’t actually grasp the material until to take great pains to commit it to your learned, long term memory.  Which takes weeks of repetition.  Unfortunately we don’t get weeks of repetition, we get days.

Days would be fine if the list of facts, terms, and relationships between those facts and terms was on the order of tens…but it’s on the order of hundreds.  Some wise people said that medical school is like trying to drink out of a fire hose – I would take it a few steps further…more like trying to drink a thick milkshake out of a fire hose with a straw…You get covered in milkshake (knowledge), you actually ingest and digest very little… So with this seemingly small base of knowledge that I’m taking into my next years, I’m going to have to be observant and LOOK.  Listen to my patients, it almost makes the Medicine, Patients, and Society course that I’m taking seem that much more important – even though they don’t do it any justice with the level they teach at.

So on we continue to march into this strange land, where you are the pilot and autopilot means crashing into the ground.  You know the patients that you see will teach you, you know that the doctors you work with will teach you.  You know that you will teach yourself.  It seems like it’s time to cram as much knowledge into my brain as possible, but will that really work? Who knows…

This is an interesting feeling, intellectual inadequacy. Perhaps it is the point of the first two years – to show you that you don’t know a ton, to show you that you will always have to work hard, to reinforce a lifetime of study, to drive home the fact that you are inheriting a profession that practices – performs – but doesn’t build.  We don’t build healthy bodies, we try to steer them that way, but ultimately it’s up to the patient and whatever the hell nature has decided.  The closest feeling I have to describe it is the powerlessness of being completely lost in a smoky building.  You might hear the outside world, you might not.  Either way it doesn’t always help to orient you to what’s happening.  The only difference is we have time – although not much.  So you start telling yourself that it is important to use your time wisely…Suddenly textbooks are weighed against lectures, sleep is weighed against eating.  Time is a double edged sword to be swung in a manner that cuts with every stroke.  You start to get the hint that this is the way it will always be…You worry about new things

New things like what one might ask.  Like a family.  Cats, pet food, dogs, small children, medium children, large children, teenagers, and suddenly grandchildren.  You wonder what effect your career will have on you as a parent, on you as a spouse, partner, friend.  You being to hope that you are talented enough to make it work.  There are so many things that aren’t taught in class – they are learned on the job.  The apprenticeship begins and everyone is frightened.  Family is scared that they will never see the soon to be sworn physician.  Patients are worried that his view is too myopic, his hands unsteady, his demeanor uncaring and undignified.  And finally he or she worries that all of the above will be true – and that there will be no way to realistically reconcile the myriad forces that seem to tug at you, without becoming one of those grumpy freaks of nature that can breeze along on 2.5 hours of sleep a day.

So as the pressure on the fire hose becomes even greater, as the demands grow even more discordant, and as the sleep becomes even more measured the student physician new to this apprenticeship questions…questions his fears, hopes, dreams, knowledge, insecurities, and yes…he questions medicine.





Autism, Addiction, Depression, Strokes, Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurosurgery

25 02 2008

These are some of the people I think about when I think neurosurgery is something I’d like to go into – it seems like a very rewarding field due to the people and the disability that you are attempting to correct. There is definitely a reason right here in these two people to actually try to help understand what is happening in their brains, and if there is something that can be safely corrected doing so…This story almost made me cry…

Kids at play are fascinating – their behavior is controlled by their big brains. It makes me wonder what a good neurosurgeon can do to help his and her patients…

Then I start thinking about problems like schizophrenia, and strange neurological disorders like this one and then our veterans many of whom join the military in the first place because of poor job and educational prospects, and then I start thinking about drug addicts and alcoholics that I can honestly think of almost as friends…Names like Otha, Rex, and Joyce.

These are a lot of the stories that I see when I think about neurosurgery. When I think about research. It fascinates me to see these people who are only a few steps away from interacting with general society in a fully productive manner…unfortunately the steps loom large…

Oh blogging…my favorite new distraction
paz…





0529…Go!

25 02 2008

So I woke up this morning at the UNGODLY time 0531.  I’ve realized I don’t wake up in the morning very easily.  My ideal wake up time is clearly 10am.  The whole surgery thing is going to difficult for that reason alone. I compiled the rest of the class show script and I’ve got to read and shower now.  Exam tomorrow.  I’m feeling somewhat confident about the respiratory system.  It’s complicated.  Whoever studied it sure did come up with a LOT of numbers, pressures, dimensions, variables, and other crap to describe it.  For all you pre-med kids out there, just be aware of a few things – 1) You will have days where you get 4 hours of sleep for no other reason than you have that much stuff to do AND 2)Undergraduate physics is the basis of physiology…not biology, physics…I thought medical students didn’t have to do math.  That’s fine though.  I’m looking forward to starting in my lab sometime in early March, and I’m looking forward to getting back into the anatomy lab.  We haven’t done any dissections for at least a week and a half.

In other news I have an interviewing student coming on Wednesday night to stay at my place – it should be cool.  I’m not sure where he’s from though.  It’s always funny when you host a student – some of them are cool, some just…aren’t…You feel like you should go to bed early or something too…Help them out with their routine… Pack them a lunch or something weird like that.

In some future posts I will talk more about my career aspirations…At the current moment I just aspire to pass my next exam…

Cheers





3 minutes left in the third quarter

25 02 2008

Coffee maker is going to have to be turned on tomorrow – I have a script to write – nothing to long – just a 3-5 minute comedic debate.  Another 30 or so pages of respiratory physiology and two scholarly journal articles to read, and at some point I need to sit down and figure out my flashcard program.  I’ve been driven and definitely overcommitted lately, I still also have some essays to read for the high school kiddies that are hanging out with us, and I need to work on my pitch for student body president.  I’m not going to put too much into it though – at least I’m not going to invest too much of my esteem and pride in that.  I would be a good president, so would my competition.  If my competition wins, I know the reason – popularity.  If I win, I know the reason – I’m just better.  But I don’t really need to win the election to know that.  I’m more charismatic, egalitarian, solution driven, pragmatic, responsive, and altruistic.  I’ve also got more leadership experience and qualities.  But alas, I’m not as popular.  Oh well…What is supposed to happen will – if I lose, I will focus on more beneficial avenues – academics, research, programming, writing.

And that’s the bell – I need to get to sleep – I’m waking at 5:30 am tomorrow so I can try to get everything done.  Damn this whole time crunch thing.  It’s just too much sometimes.  Oh well I’ll get everything out to everyone sometime tomorrow or Tuesday.  Time really is money.  It really is money.  You can never have too much time.  Especially not in this game.